FOOD-UNECESSARY PROBING

Question: I understand that vinegar is halaal and so are foods pickled in them like cucumber. However there are other forms of pickled items which are not formed with the use of vinegar. Such items include saurkraut, kimchi both of which are formed from cabbage, there are pickled radishes also. In general these food items are pickled through fermentation. As with this process there will remain trace amounts of alcohol that may remain, evaporate or become vinegar. Are such foods halaal. Or must the food be pickled using only vinegar as some cucumbers happen to be.
Additionally there is a popular drink classified as non alcoholic beverage called kombucha. It is a fermented tea from what I understand. It has trace amounts of alcohol.
I have further learned that any yogurt that is made is always involved with a fermentation process. The fermentation occurs through lactic acid bacteria in milk. This is again the case for any form of yogurt plain or flavoured. Are yogurts permissible?
In addition, breads produced with yeast will produce alcohol as well, along with anything that uses yeast. Breads not produced with yeast too contain small amounts of alcohol and this will be residually present in all breads and baked flour products. Are such forms of cooking and food permissible? Ripened but not spoiled fruits such as bananas and pears too contain small amounts of alcohol.  Are these permissible?
Answer: Understand well that the vast majority of Muslims consume even products which are blatantly haraam. Due to extreme deficiency of the Imaan of the masses, it is unwise to pry and investigate every product which does not ostensibly appear to be haraam.
Now you have investigated bread, yogurt, etc., thereby bringing difficulty for yourself and others. Yeast has been used since time immemorial in baking bread. All the great Ulama, Fuqaha and Auliya consumed bread in which yeast has been used. Therefore it is imprudent to probe such products which are generally accepted as halaal on the basis of there being no haraam ingredients in the products.
If your Taqwa constrains you to abstain from these products, then by all means you may do so, but do not create difficulties for others. We are extremely reluctant to investigate such details. The example of ripened fruit is absolutely ridiculous. Alcohol was not injected into the fruit nor is such fruit intoxicating. If a chemical analysis establishes that such fruit has traces of alcohol, it will be of no significance. The fruit remains halaal.
The drinks are haraam. The pickles are halaal, The bread and flour products are halaal.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.